Search Anything Related to Library and Information Science

People starting with letter D

D. B. Krishna Rao: D. B. Krishna Rao is the first Ph.D. awardee in 1958 from University of Delhi, under the guidance of Dr. S. R. Ranganathan, for the topic “Facet Analysis and Depth Classification”. 2011-J-P-II-Q-44

D. J. Urquhart: D. J. Urquhart wrote "The Principles of Librarianship" in 1981. 2008-D-P-II-Q-34

D. P. Chattopadhyaya: The Department of Culture, Government of India set up a COmmittee on National POlicy on Library and Information System (CONPOLIS) on 7th October 1985 under the chairmanship of Professor D. P. Chattopadhyaya to consider the document "National Policy on Library and Information System" prepared by the Raja Rammohun Roy Library Foundation (RRRLF).
            The Report of the Review Committee on Library Staff under the perview of central government, 1989, brought out under the Chairmanship of Prof. D.P. Chattopadhyaya is the outcome of the recommendations made in the National Policy on Library and Information System (NAPLIS) to categorise the Government of India Libraries. Review Committee under the chairmanship of Prof. D.P. Chattopadhyay to undertake the work of reclassification of various posts of library staff, rationalization of service conditions, pay scales etc., falling under the purview of Central Government Departments/offices and to draw up suitable proposals in this regard. 2011-J-P-II-Q-36, 2012-J-P-II-Q-1, 2014-J-P-III-Q-28, 2014-D-P-III-Q-63, 2015-D-P-II-Q-5

D. R. Kalia: Report of the Libraries in Madhya Bharat, with Proposals for their Improvement and Integration into a Public Library System was submitted to the Government of Madhya Pradesh in the year 1952 under the Chairmanship of Dr. D.R. Kalia. The objective of the Report was to inspect the libraries with a view to suggest possible developments and improvements with particular reference to public libraries, rural library service.

Daulat Singh Kothari: Daulat Singh Kothari (1906–1993) was an eminent Indian scientist and educationist. Indian Education Commission (1964-1966), popularly known as Kothari Commission, was an ad hoc commission set up by the Government of India to examine all aspects of the educational sector in India, to evolve a general pattern of education and to advise guidelines and policies for the development of education in India. It was formed on 14 July 1964 under the chairmanship of Daulat Singh Kothari, then chairman of the University Grants Commission. It stated that no university, its department or college should be set up without taking into account its library needs in terms of staff, books, journals, space, etc. In the words of the Education Commission, "Nothing could be more damaging to a growing department than to neglect its library or to give it a low priority. On the contrary, the library should be an important centre of attraction on the college or university campus". 2005-J-P-II-Q-44, 2006-J-P-II-Q-36, 2007-D-P-II-Q-42, 2015-D-P-III-Q-53, 2016-J-P-III-Q-37

David Berlo: In 1960, David Berlo expanded Shannon and Weaver's 1949 linear model of communication and created the Sender-Message-Channel-Receiver (SMCR) Model of Communication. 2012-D-P-III-Q-74, 2015-J-P-II-Q-1

David Clarence McClelland: David Clarence McClelland (May 20, 1917 – March 27, 1998) was an American psychologist, noted for his work on motivation Need Theory. McClelland is credited with developing the Achievement Motivation Theory commonly referred to as need achievement or n-achievement theory.

David Ellis: David Ellis initial investigations of the behaviour of researchers in the physical and social sciences and engineers and research scientists through semi-structured interviews using a grounded theory approach, with a focus on describing the activities rather than a process produced six key activities within the information seeking process: Starting (activities that form the information search), Chaining (backwards or forwards - following references in initial information sources), Browsing (semi-directed search), Differentiating (filtering and selecting sources based on judgements of quality and relevance), Monitoring (keeping track of developments in an area) and Extracting (systematic extraction of material of interest from sources). Later studies by Ellis on focusing on academic researchers in other disciplines resulted in the addition of two more activities; Verifying (checking accuracy) and Ending (a final search, checking all material covered). 2013-J-P-III-Q-3

Dean Barnlund: Dean Barnlund (1970) proposed a transactional model of communication. The basic premise of the transactional model of communication is that individuals are simultaneously engaging in the sending and receiving of messages. 2016-J-P-II-Q-11

Derek Austin: Derek Austin (11 August 1921 – 22 May 2001) was a librarian and an author. He was a developer of innovative digital cataloguing systems and the creator of the PREserved Context Indexing System (PRECIS) indexing language in 1974, which was used worldwide and for the British National Bibliography. 2004-D-P-II-Q-44, 2010-D-P-II-Q-42, 2012-D-P-III-Q-70, 2014-D-P-II-Q-42

Derek John de Solla Price: Derek John de Solla Price (22 January 1922 – 3 September 1983) was a physicist, historian of science, and information scientist, credited as the father of scientometrics.
Popular Books of Derek John de Solla Price includes - Little Science, Big Science, 1963. 2009-D-P-II-Q-41, 2010-D-P-II-Q-45, 2012-D-P-III-Q-72

Dorothy M. Broderick: Arthur Curley and Dorothy M. Broderick together authored the Book "Building Library Collections" (1985) where they proposed their book selection theories.

Douglas John Fosket: Douglas John (D.J.) Foskett (June 27, 1918 – May 7, 2004) was a British librarian and library and information scientists, and author of several special ‘faceted’ classification systems.
Popular Books of Douglas John Foskett includes - Information service in libraries, 1958.

Douglas Murray McGregor: Douglas Murray McGregor (1906 – 1 October 1964) was a management professor at the MIT Sloan School of Management and president of Antioch College from 1948 to 1954. 'Theory X' and 'Theory Y' are theories of human motivation and management created and developed by Douglas McGregor at the MIT Sloan School of Management in the 1960 through the book "The Human Side of Enterprise". Theory X stresses the importance of strict supervision, external rewards, and penalties: in contrast, Theory Y highlights the motivating role of job satisfaction and encourages workers to approach tasks without direct supervision. 2004-D-P-II-Q-13, 2004-D-P-II-Q-31, 2007-J-P-II-Q-41, 2007-D-P-II-Q-40, 2008-J-P-II-Q-39, 2010-D-P-II-Q-41, 2011-D-P-II-Q-14, 2012-J-P-III-Q-70, 2013-J-P-II-Q-33, 2013-D-P-II-Q-27, 2015-D-P-III-Q-30, 2016-J-P-II-Q-39

Badan BarmanDr. Badan Barman at present working as an Assistant Professor in the Department of Library and Information Science, Gauhati University, Guwahati-781014, Assam, India. He is the creator of the LIS Links ( - India’s most popular social networking website for Library and Information Science professionals. He also created the Open Access Journals Search Engine (OAJSE) (, UGC NET Guide (, Assam Archive ( and LIS Study ( website.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Website Pageviews